Skip to content

Will Connolly Come Clean?

August 22, 2013

Yesterday The Indignant Teacher posed a question to Mayoral Candidate John Connolly in regards to the half-million endorsement he “turned down” from Stand for Children, asking him to explain why, if he truly didn’t “want” the endorsement, he went through the extensive process of seeking it in the first place.

Although doing so helped this blog achieved an all time high number of visits (over 1,000) since it’s inception a few months ago, and although the question has been shared via social media outlets thanks to equally-curious Bostonians, apparently it hasn’t reached Connolly yet.

So The Indignant Teacher did what any indignant teacher would do – she posted it directly on his Facebook page.

Let’s see what he has to say.

{For the record, there was one candidate in the pool who opted out of Stand’s process altogether. This is the same candidate who penned “The Boston Compact”, asking candidates not to accept assistance from any outside interest group: City Councilor Rob Consalvo}.

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Annmarie Harrington permalink

    Did you post the same question on the other candidates’ Facebook wall?

  2. No, I didn’t, but the other candidates aren’t trying to backpedal their way out of anything today.
    Let me be clear that I am NOT trying to slander John in any way, nor am I out to cause problems. In fact, as I’ve said before, I have known John since long before he got involved in politics at all, I like him, and would have loved to have given him my vote. I think he could have made an excellent mayor, but this makes me question things. Why wouldn’t it? As a Boston Public Schools parent and (former) teacher, I feel I have the right to understand why his recent press release contradicts what appears to be his reality. Don’t you?

    Voters need to be made aware of the reality behind these organizations, specifically what partnering up with them will most definitely do to the public schools…do a little research into what Chicago has been dealing with this year. That is what’s on it’s way to Boston if the likes of Stand for Children get involved. It’s scary stuff.

  3. Annmarie Harrington permalink

    I would take your stance more seriously if it weren’t directed at only one candidate. Until you question the other candidates on why they communicated with this group ( or the AFL-CIO or Emily’s List) it does appear that you are out to slander ( your word not mine) John Connolly. I also, have children in BPS ( one in SPED) and have a vested interest in this election.

  4. Jill, I totally agree with your position on Stand, and I’m glad you’re keeping after Connolly on this.
    I will say, though, that as a candidate, I fill out questionnaires from everyone who sends me one during a campaign (including, last time ’round, Stand for Children). I don’t know how Stand played this in Boston, but it’s not uncommon for groups to have voters’ guides in which they publish answers to questions posed, and that can be useful, whatever one’s position.

Leave a Reply

